in defence of romance!

Hello and Happy New Year! If you follow me over on Twitter, you will have seen that over the last few weeks there have been some “debates” (and I put that in inverted commas because it’s often more like men shouting about it) that romance is a cop out genre to write in, that’s it’s […]

Read more

a little christmas cover reveal!

Well here it is, the beautiful cover for my next book ‘The Pieces of You & Me’. And here’s the blurb….. She’d turned her back on love. But fate had other ideas. A powerful and uplifting second chance love story to make you laugh and cry, perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Sheila O’Flanagan, and […]

Read more

line edits -vs- copy edits

I’ve got to the point with my third book where all the exiting things are starting to happen. It has a title (The Pieces of You and Me), a publication date (ebook and audio on 21 March 2019 and paperback on 30 May 2019), the ebook and paperback are up for preorder (audio to follow) […]

Read more

Where am I now?

The last time I wrote about my writing process I’d just completed the structural edits for Book 3. The book is now with my copy editor and I should have more news on that soon. But what have I been doing since then? As you know this summer, for various reasons, I left my part-time day […]

Read more

how we nearly moved to the seaside and then didn’t….

This is a story about learning to work out the difference between what you think you want and what you actually need. And about learning to love your life as it is right now, not how you hope it will be in six months’ time. Like all my stories it has a happy ending, although […]

Read more

what is creative writing mentoring anyway?

When I was writing my first book I did it alone at my dining room table – I had no agent or editor to help me when I got stuck, or to confirm whether I was on track. I had no real timeline as to when I was going to finish it (it took three […]

Read more

on vulnerability and what happens next

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram (and I hope you do!) you’ll know that last week I handed in the structural edits of my third book. What happens next is that my editor reads the book again and decides if it needs more work or not. And I sit at home hoping that it […]

Read more

on success

This past weekend I have been reading through my freshly edited (I’ve written about my process here) third novel for the final time before sending it back to my publisher (there it is on my kindle if you want to zoom into the picture and have a sneak peak!). This book has been a hard […]

Read more

the cult of busy

  I spend a lot of time alone. I work from home, on my own and my partner is away a lot. When I first knew the change from a more “normal” office job to this was happening I panicked. Would I be lonely? Would I get sick of my own company? Would I go […]

Read more

on perfectionism

If you’ve read my latest book, The Things We Need to Say (it’s just 99p right now so if you haven’t now is as good a time as any – hashtag shameless self-promtion!), you’ll know that it’s about a couple, Fran and Will, who have spent their marriage trying to live the perfect life, according […]

Read more